Orientation and Preparation
The decision to start a business can be life changing. The Georgia Small Business Development Center Network has resources to help you determine the legal structure your business should take, apply for a tax identification number, register with the Secretary of State, as well as information on permits and licenses.
The Georgia Secretary of State First Stop Business Information Center provides prospective business owners with a central point of information and contacts for state regulatory requirements for operating a small business. The center can help prospective business owners determine what licenses and permits must be obtained and maintained in their line of business.
Occupational Tax Certificate / Business License
Every business needs an Occupational Tax Certificate also referred to as a business licenses in Sandy Springs. To avoid penalty fees, they should be applied for within 30 days of opening the business.
You can obtain a criminal history report (State of Georgia) or background check through the Sandy Springs Police Department (7840 Roswell Road, Building 301). There is a $31.00 fee and a state issued I.D. or passport is required. All major credit cards, Money Orders or cash are excepted.